NASA Kentucky, UofL, WKU Receive NASA Research Award

July 28, 2014

A research team led by Dr. Stuart J. Williams (University of Louisville, Science PI) and Dr. Suzanne Smith (University of Kentucky, Managing PI) has recently been awarded a grant through NASA’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) to investigate the interaction of suspended micro- and nanoparticles under microgravity. This team will collaborate with the Advanced Colloid Experiments team at NASA (Glenn Research Center), which conducts colloid experiments on the International Space Station. The goal of this research is to gain insight into colloidal assembly physics, particularly nanoparticle haloing and electrokinetic colloidal self-assembly, for applications towards the synthesis of colloidal-based materials and dynamically reconfigurable colloidal structures.

This award has a $750,000 contribution from NASA with $300,000 additional matching funds from Kentucky EPSCoR. The research team also includes Gerold Willing (Co-I, University of Louisville), Hemali Rathnayake (Co-I, Western Kentucky University), Ronald Sicker (NASA Partner, Glenn Research Center), and Janet Lumpp (Co-I, University of Kentucky).

Link: NASA press release
Link: UK press release
Link: UL Press Release

Dr. Stuart Williams explains a research process in his lab at U of L.

Dr. Stuart Williams explains a research process to PhD candidate Vanessa Velasco in the Microfluidics Lab at UofL

Contact Us

NASA Kentucky Space Grant Consortium and EPSCoR Programs
University of Kentucky College of Engineering
112 Robotics Bldg (RMB)
Lexington, KY 40506-0108

Phone: 859-218-6272 (859-218-NASA)

Dr. Suzanne Weaver Smith, Director

Dr. Jane Hayes, Associate Director 859-323-4544

Jacob Owen, Assistant Director

Mark Pittman, Program Manager